Full form of MBBS is Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery. This degree program’s full name is Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery, and the abbreviation MBBS is used to represent it. “Medicinae Baccalaureus, Baccalaureus Chirurgiae” was the Latin phrase used in the original phrase. That phrase was the inspiration for this abbreviation (MBBS). An undergraduate degree in medicine and surgery, known as the Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS), can be earned at colleges, universities, and medical schools. Four years of full-time study are required to earn this diploma. Some medical schools and universities offer this course, which focuses primarily on studying medicine and surgical procedures. The terms “Bachelor of Medicine” and “Bachelor of Surgery” actually refer to two distinct degrees in medicine and surgery. To make things simpler, these degrees have been condensed into a single course of study for the benefit of students. Because of this, they are treated as a single entity, and their obligations are met simultaneously. There are two options for how long a student can complete the MBBS programme: five years or six years.

To become a doctor, students must complete the MBBS programme, also known as the Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery. Many people believe that someone who holds a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery degree has a good understanding of medicine. Community health and medicine, paediatrics and surgery, and anatomical pharmacology and pathology are part of the MBBS curriculum. This degree is awarded to students who have completed all required courses. Graduates of the MBBS programme will be able to specialise in a particular
area of medicine after completing their basic training, thanks to the curriculum’s flexibility. Nephrology, cardiology, female reproductive health, anesthesiology and organ transplantation are just a few specialities available to MBBS students. It’s not the only option, but it’s not the only option either.

Eligibility Criteria for admission to MBBS

  • To be eligible, applicants must have a strong background in science and have completed the 10+2/higher secondary/pre-university qualification exam with science subjects like mathematics, physics, chemistry, and botany/zoology. Candidates must also have completed their 10+2/higher secondary/pre-university examinations to be considered for admission. Considering that most of their certification exam will be in English, he should have spent more time honing his English skills.
  • To be eligible, applicants must be at least 17 years old at their acceptance into the programme. Candidates must meet this requirement to be considered for the programme.
  • In addition to these, the Medical Council of India, the body that oversees MBBS in India, has established additional eligibility criteria. These specifications were unknown before this time (MCI).

Entrance exams for the MBBS programme.

Students in India must first pass the Medical Entrance Examination, administered across the country, before applying to any of the country’s medical colleges to pursue a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) degree programme. This demonstrates that they are ready to take on the competition on the field. MBBS programmes with the most esteemed entrance exams include these:

  • NEET (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test)
  • It is necessary to take the JIPMER MBBS Admission Test (Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research)
  • The All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) MBBS Examination (All India Institute of Medical Sciences)

Some Prestigious Medical Schools:

Some of the brightest minds in medicine have grown up in India. Because of this, the following medical schools have signed up to take part:

  • Bangalore Medical College (BMC)
  • All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS)
  • Christian Medical College (CMC)
  • Calcutta Medical College and Hospital
  • Grant Medical College


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *